What's Cooking?

Should I keep this going?

• Total voters

PhotographerGuy

OFC Regular
I am going to try this one out. It seems there are a lot of us that love food. And with a global community, there is so much out there. As a once aspiring chef, I love to cook and share recipes.

So here goes. Let's try a thread where you can share recipes. They can come from anywhere, old family traditions, from cooking shows, things you create(d)...anywhere. Give us the recipe with ingredients and directions (as best as you can, I create dishes by feel and taste so it might not be exact). If you can include a pic that would be great. And if there is a story, go ahead. And please give a link to the website you might have gotten it from.

To start, I am a big fan of Alton Brown and the show Good Eats. Being from western New York originally, there is that great thing called Buffalo Wings. Here is Alton's version which is fantastic. Have fun and enjoy.

Alton Brown Wings.jpeg
Level: Easy
Ingredients
  • 12 whole chicken wings
  • 3 ounces unsalted butter
  • 1 small clove garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup hot sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
Directions
Place a 6-quart saucepan with a steamer basket and 1-inch of water in the bottom, over high heat, cover and bring to a boil.

Remove the tips of the wings and discard or save for making stock. Using kitchen shears, or a knife, separate the wings at the joint. Place the wings into the steamer basket, cover, reduce the heat to medium and steam for 10 minutes. Remove the wings from the basket and carefully pat dry. Lay the wings out on a cooling rack set in a half sheet pan lined with paper towels and place in the refrigerator for 1 hour.

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.

Replace the paper towels with parchment paper. Roast on the middle rack of the oven for 20 minutes. Turn the wings over and cook another 20 minutes or until meat is cooked through and the skin is golden brown.